Planning my no-buy quarter

In years past, I’ve tried to complete no-buy months to no avail. I think some of this failure was probably due to me not setting up any rules. This January, after doing some research on Reddit and finding great Youtube videos about no-buys, I think I’ll have more success. I’m also not planning to commit to a whole year yet so this task isn’t as daunting.

Here are some rules I’m setting for my first no-buy quarter (January to March 2019). Of course, not listed are groceries/gas/rent/monthly bills.

What I am not allowed to buy:

  • Clothes, unless I am replacing something or am in need of something for a specific event that I don’t already have.
  • Shoes. I am planning on buying one pair of slip-on mules come warmer weather, perhaps in the springtime.
  • Essential oils and candles.
  • Homewares. Specifically: Cute mugs, cozy blankets, “zen” decor, and crystals.
  • Books. Obviously except for those that are needed for school. I have plenty of personal books to finish reading!
  • Plants. 
  • Art supplies: yarn, paint, clay, knitting/crocheting needles.
  • Stationery: pens, post its, bookmark flags (pretty much the cute crap at Daiso lol)

What I am allowed to buy:

  • Replacement makeup (mascara, eyebrow filler)
  • Clear storage boxes (this is limited, I’ve been working on slowly organizing our sports items)
  • Needed items related to snowboarding
  • Exercise classes
  • Small meals and drinks for social lunches/dinners/brunches
  • Camping or permit reservations
  • Photo prints
img_0724

Snowboarding at Big Bear for our first time last year. We are committing to being more consistent this year!

I am so excited about setting these rules for my first quarter in this no-buy. After reflecting on my list, I’ve found that much of what I am not allowing myself to buy are things I already have much of. When I went out to shop for these items, the item was not so much needed, but it was a distraction for myself in times of high stress.

The things that I am allowing myself to buy are projects and goals that I have always wanted to do, but have not committed to because of wasting time on distractions or coming up with excuses. For example, some resolutions I’m setting for the year are to get organized, maintain and develop stronger relationships, consistently exercise through some favorite activities, travel, and to become more involved in my community.

In the end, this no buy isn’t just about saving money and minimalism. But it’s about getting rid of the consumerist distractions that modern society has set to distract us from truly living our life. Wish me luck on this first quarter!

 

Leave a comment